Amaravati: The newly-elected legislators of Andhra Pradesh Wednesday took oath as members of the state Assembly.

- Protem Speaker S V C Appala Naidu administered the oath to the new members, beginning with Chief Minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy and followed by Leader of Opposition N Chandrababu Naidu.

- G. Srinivasa Reddy, YSRCP MLA from Narsaraopet constituency, could not attend the session as his mother passed away.

-In a show of loyalty, a newly elected member of Andhra Pradesh Assembly belonging to YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) on Wednesday took oath in the name of Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy. While all, including YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, took oath as MLAs in the name of god, K. Sridhar Reddy swore in the name of god and also in the name of Jagan Reddy. Pro tem Speaker Appala Naidu later made the MLA from Nellore Rural constituency take oath again as per the Assembly rules.

- Deputy Chief Minister Amjad Basha took the oath in the name of 'allah' on the first day of the first session of the newly elected Assembly

- The 175-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly acquired new hues as the blue-white-green shades of YSR Congress dominated the members' rows.

-The YSRC secured a landslide in the recent elections, winning a staggering 151 seats. The Telugu Desam Party that ruled the state from June 2014 to May 2019 now has just 23 MLAs. The Jana Sena has only one MLA.

- Both Jagan and Naidu greeted each other from a distance upon taking oath, but the courteous shaking of hands was missing.

Also Read: When YSRCP, TDP MLAs Bumped Into Each Other After Elections…

-The 25 ministers were then sworn-in, followed by 11 women members.

- The other members then took turns and the entire process that began at 11.05 am, ended around 4 pm, after a one-hour lunch break in between.

- Only about half a dozen members took oath in English while all others did it in Telugu.

- Nellore Rural MLA K Sridhar Reddy was made to take oath for a second time after he swore "in the name of Jagan" the first time. The protem Speaker asked Reddy to take oath in the prescribed format and accordingly the second-time legislator took oath in the name of god.

- Meanwhile, veteran legislator Tammineni Sitaram filed his nomination on Wednesday evening for the Speaker's election.

-As many as 30 YSRCP MLAs seconded his nomination and he is expected to be elected to the post unopposed. (PTI)

Also Read: AP Assembly Sessions Kick Off With YS Jagan’s Swearing-in As MLA

Also Read: 1st Session Of 15th AP Legislative Assembly: What To Expect