Meet Youngest Minister In AP Cabinet

Pamula Pushpa Sreevani has set a record becoming the youngest member of the YS Jagan Mohan Reddy’s Cabinet - Sakshi Post

At 27, Pamula Pushpa Sreevani has set a record becoming the youngest member of the YS Jagan Mohan Reddy's Cabinet. She has been offered Tribal Welfare Ministry.

Sreevani is a two-time MLA, who has been elected on YSRCP's ticket both in 2014 and 2019 from Kurupam constituency in Vizianagaram district.

Although there was pressure mounting on her after 2014 elections to ditch YSRCP, which was then in Opposition, and to switch allegiance to TDP, she remained put in the party despite many senior leaders from the district crossing over.

Sreevani walked away with a majority of 26, 602 votes in 2019 against her TDP rival Narasimha Priya Thatraj.

She belongs to Doramamidi village of Buttayagudem mandal in West Godavari district. She was a teacher by profession before taking a plunge into politics. She is married to Satrucharla Parikshit Raj, who belongs to an influential political family in the district.

A woman is among five ministers appointed as deputy chief ministers of Andhra Pradesh on Saturday while a woman minister was also given the key portfolio of home.

P. Pushpa Sreevani, the youngest among ministers inducted in Y. S. Jagan Mohan Reddy cabinet earlier in the day, was later appointed one of the five deputy chief ministers. The 33-year-old will look after tribal welfare.

In an unprecedented move, Jagan Reddy named five deputy CMs, one each from the Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes, Backward Classes, minorities and Kapus.

P. Subhash Chandra Bose, a senior leader who served as the minister in Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy's cabinet in undivided Andhra Pradesh, is also among the deputy chief ministers. Bose will handle revenue portfolio.

The other deputy chief ministers are Alla Kali Krishna Srinivas (health, family welfare and medical education), K. Narayana Swamy (excise, commercial taxes) and Amjad Basha Shaik Bepari (minority welfare).

Mekathoti Sucharitha, who was one of the three women to be inducted in the cabinet, was entrusted with the key portfolio of home. The 47-year-old was elected to Assembly from Prathipadu constituency (reserved for Scheduled Caste).

By appointing Sucharitha as the home minister, Jagan Reddy has emulated his father Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy, who had made Sabitha Indra Reddy as the first woman home minister of undivided Andhra Pradesh in 2009. Sucharitha will handle home and disaster departments.

Bugganath Rajendranath will be the finance minister in Jagan Reddy's cabinet.A He was re-elected from Dhone Assembly constituency for a second term on YSR Congress Party ticket.

Also Read:Is This The Reason Why YS Jagan Made Mekathoti Sucharitha Home Minister Of AP?

Also Read: AP Cabinet Ministers Sworn In

Also Read: Andhra Pradesh Know Your Minister: Mopidevi Venkata Ramana Rao

Read More:

Back to Top