3 Former Cops To Test Their Luck In Anantapur

Three former police officers are now in the fray... - Sakshi Post

Three former police officers are now in the electoral fray and are trying their luck from the Rayalaseema region. From the Hindupur Lok Sabha constituency Retired Circle Inspector Gorantla Maadhav is contesting on YSRCP's ticket, while retired Inspector General of Police Md. Iqbal is contesting from Hindupur Assembly segment in Anantapur district.

The TDP on the other side experimented by fielding with former police officer Mandra Sivananda Reddy from Nandyal Lok Sabha segment, despite some resistance earlier among the party cadre.

Md. Iqbal who retired as the Rayalaseema zone IGP a few months ago had joined the YSRCP. The party high command had decided to get Iqbal to contest from Hindupur Assembly segment in the district.

The Hindupur Assembly segment is known to be home turf for the TDP from the time of NTR, as NTR had won from Hindupur thrice and his sons Nandamuri Harikrishna and Balakrishna had also won from the same place. It is learned that Balakrishna is now contesting for the second time.

Party in-charge Naveen Nischal and later, former MLA Abdul Ghani were the first names that was mentioned to contest from the constituency, but later they experimented fielding Md. Iqbal against Nandamuri Balakrishna.

LS candidate of Hindupur Gorantla Madhav similarly was given his ticket after many twists in the decision. He had fought to get clearance for his voluntary retirement till he filed his nomination. However, Madhav from Kuruba, a strong BC community in Hindupur area, hopes to get votes from own community.

For the Nandyal LS Seat Mandra Sivananda Reddy, a retired police officer is in the fray.

Also Read: Mohan Babu Rubbishes Reports Of His Jail Term

Read More:

Back to Top