YSRCP Has A Decisive Edge In Godavari Districts

YSRCP - Sakshi Post

Amaravati: Many of the Telugu Desam Party leaders are making a beeline to the YSR Congress Party. These leaders have their sway over a particular constituency, region or community and many of them are sitting MPs, MLAs and sarpanches.

Analysts added that never in recent history has there been an exodus on the scale the ruling party was witnessing. The main reason being quoted by people’s representatives is that they are fed up with Chandrababu’s use-and-throw policy.

Tremors in TDP

The current conditions are leaving the TDP leaders at a complete loss to come to terms with the situation. The TDP supremo is worried as people are backing the YSRCP in a big way and at the same time, many TDP leaders are also leaving the party.

The exodus began at the time of the Padayatra of the Leader of the Opposition in Andhra Pradesh Assembly and YSRCP President YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, and has been swelling in numbers ever since .

Leaders from the ruling party are of the opinion that an increase in the popularity of YS Jagan and conversely, prominent TDP leaders joining the YSRCP is an indication that people are looking for a change in leadership.

East Godavari:

There is a saying that whichever party wins the maximum number of seats in East Godavari district is going to form the government in the state. It is in this district where many leaders left the party to join YSRCP. Two sitting MPs, one MLA and one former MLA left TDP. Others like former ZP chairperson and three other prominent leaders left the party. MP Thota Narasimham, who joined the YSRCP recently has sway in Peddapuram, Jaggampeta, Kakinada, Pitapuram constituencies.

He has a good number of votes within the Kapu community, and his wife Thota Vani is the daughter of former Minister Metla Satyanarayana. Another MP from Amalapuram, Pandula Ravindra is popular among members of all communities, while former Minister Parvata Bapanamma has a following in Prathipadu and Pithapuram constituencies.

Sivarama Subramanyam from Rajahmundry was a prominent leader from Congress. He has been the former APIIC Chairman and own a cable TV network. He is from the Vysya community and can influence the voters in five constituencies, it is believed.

Parvata Raja Babu, Bejawada Satyanarayana have their stronghold in Prathipadu, Pithapuram and Kakinada rural segment.

West Godavari:

In West Godavari, famous industrialist Raghu Ramakrishnam Raju, four former MLAs and Eluru municipal corporation Chairperson Sheik Noorjahan joined YSRCP. Raghu Ramakrishnam Raju is connected with Narasapuram constituency and enjoys tremendous goodwill among the locals there. Former MLA Chekrukuvada Sriranganatha Raju is an important leader in the region as well. Former MLAs Maddala Sunitha and Mocherla Jawahar have their sway in these parts. Eluru Mayor Sheik Noorjahan has a strong hold over the weaker sections and is popular in business circles.

Kothapalli Subbarayudu recently joined YSRCP leaving TDP, and has an unblemished record. Moreover, has the support of Kapu community in almost 10 assembly segments. Senior leader Yarra Narayana Swamy’s son and Kapu corporation former director Naveen resigned to Jana Sena and joined YSRCP. Avanti Srinivas, Dadi Veerabhadra Rao can influence voting patterns in the district.

From Visakhapatnam former MLA Dronamraju Srinivas, city Congress President Behara Bhasker Rao joined the YSRCP. Former Minister Killi Krupa Rani, Tekkali former MLA Bammidi Narayana Swamy have their sway in Kalinga community. Former MLA from Kovvur TV Rama Rao also joined YSRCP.

Actor, producer and founder of Vidyaniketan Group Educational Institutions Manchu Mohan Babu joined the YSRCP, and his son and hero Manchu Vishnu accompanied him. Mohan Babu is a powerful influence in Chandragiri, Tirupati and Srikalahasti.

Iqbal Ahmed, who contested from Piler on a TDP ticket and Konda family Tambalepalle have already joined the YSRCP.

Also Read: Veteran Leader Sai Prathap Resigns From TDP

Back to Top