Amalapuram Lok Sabha Constituency Profile

Amalapuram Lok Sabha Constituency Map - Sakshi Post

Amalapuram Lok Sabha constituency located in Konaseema, the delta area of Godavari river in East Godavari, is surrounded by Bay of Bengal and river Godavari on four sides. This area is known for its natural beauty, and home of Andhra Culture. The area is among the most fertile regions in the country and all types of crops are grown. Amalapuram is an SC reserved constituency.

It has the highest population of SCs in the country and prominent leaders from the constituency are Bayya Suryanarayana Murty, GMC Balaypogi, Kusuma Krishna Murthy, PVG Raju. GMC Balayogi was elected from this constituency and worked as Lok Sabha speaker.

Amalapuram constituency was first carved out in 1962. In 2007, it became an SC (reserved) constituency. Before reorganizationn this Lok Sabha seat had Tallarevu, Mummadivaram, Allavaram, Amalapuram, Nagaram, Razole, Kothakota Assembly constituencies under it. After reorganization it has been allocated to SCs’; later, Tallarevu, Allavaram, Nagaram become non existent and Mandapeta, Ramachandrapuram constituencies got added to Amalapuram constituency.

In this constituency the number of male population is higher than female population. A total of 14 elections have been conducted till now of which Congress party won 9 and TDP 5. The first MP, who got elected in 1962 from Congress was Bayya Suryanarayana Murthy. He won the constituency thrice along with GMC Balayogi. GV Harsha Kumar and Kusuma Krishna Murty won the constituency twice. PVG Raju, AJ Venkata Buchi Maheswara Rao, KDR Murty and Pandula Ravindra Babu won from the seat once. In the last elections TDP candidate Ravindra Babu won against YSRCP candidate Pinipe Vishwaroop. But now, the fight is between YSRCP and TDP. The presence of other parties namely Jana Sena and others is going to be nominal.

Chinta Anuradha is contesting on YSRCP ticket, Ganti Harish Mathur from TDP and from Jana Sena's Duggirala Moses Rajashekar. In the last elections TDP won in six constituencies out of the seven and YSRCP got one segment. TDP is now facing sweeping anti-incumbency and its MP Ravindra Babu joined YSRCP. It is learnt that in every constituency there is rampant corruption. The sand from banks of the river Godavari has been illegally excavated by TDP leaders. Temple and Lanka lands have been grabbed by the TDP cadre. Under the Neeru-Chettu scheme and modernization of irrigation water canals heavy corruption took place. Also the promises of Chandrababu that a coconut fiber based industry, aquaculture processing unit and water ways were never fulfilled.

Former Chief Minister late Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy allocated Rs 1,710 crore for the modernization of the delta region. Polavaram project was also initiated under his reign. In 2006, Rs 586.67 crore was granted to rebuild the damaged banks of the ponds due to Godavari floods. The tax on coconut based products was reduced by 2% and the minimum support price was raised by Rs 50 per quintal. Later, Rs 50 was added as the bonus from the government, continuing the same spirit YSRCP also supported the farmers of the region.

Chinta Anuradha is highly educated and is active in service activities. Her father Chinta Krishna Murty is a renowned local leader. She has been working as a coordinator for the party walked along with YS Jagan during the course of his Padayatra in these parts. She started a foundation on her father’s name and is serving the people of the constituency.

Ganti Harish, the son of late GMC Balayogi, is facing criticism that he is unavailable to the cadre and is only seen during the elections. His mother, Vijaya Kumari had represented the constituency in the past. Harish is banking on his father's name but has a mountain to climb in view of the widespread resentment against TDP leaders.


Pinipe Vishwaroop: (YSRCP)

Ayatabathula Ananda Rao: (TDP)

Settibattula Raja Babu: (Jana Sena)

P Gannavaram

Kondeti Chitti Babu : (YSRCP)

Nelapudi Stalin Babu: (TDP)

Pamula Rajeswari : (Jana Sena)


Bonthu Rajeshwara Rao: (YSRCP)

Gollapalli Surya Rao : (TDP)

Rapaka Varaprasada Rao : (JanaSena)


Chirla Jaggi Reddy : (YSRCP)

Bandaru Satyananda Rao: (TDP)

Bandaru Srinivasa Rao : (Jana Sena)


Ponnada Venkata Satish Kumar : (YSRCP)

Datla Subba Raju : (TDP)

Pithani Balakrishna : (Jana Sena)


C Srinivasa Venugopala Krishna : (YSRCP)

Thota Trimurthulu : (TDP)

Polisetti Chandrashekar : (Jana Sena)


Pilli Subash Chandra Bose : (YSRCP)

Vegulla Jogeswara Rao: (TDP)

Vegulla Leela Krishna : (Jana Sena)

Total votes : 14,09,402

Male votes: 7,07,592

Female votes : 7,01,172

Others : 56

Service voters : 582

Also Read: Social Media Reacts To Former Dalit MP Harshkumar’s Servile Behaviour

Read More:

Back to Top