Nagababu Enters Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena Party

Pawan Kalyan with Naga Babu - Sakshi Post

Amaravati: Pawan Kalyan's elder brother and unofficial spokesperson of Jana Sena Party (JSP) Naga Babu joined the party officially today. He is likely to  contest as the JSP candidate for the Narasapuram Lok Sabha Constituency.

It is known that he has been speaking on behalf of the party indirectly and has never actually directly participated in any of the party activities so far. With this, Nagababu has put an end to all rumours and speculations about his joining the party and politics.

The Jana Sena Party has released four lists of its party  MLA and MP candidates so far.

Also Read: Nagababu Konidela Promises Help To Jana Sena Party

The Jana Sena will contest 140 out of 175 Assembly and 18 out of 25 Lok Sabha seats.

It may be recollected that the Jana Sena party has teamed up with Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj party, the CPI and the CPI-M for the Lok Sabha and the Andhra Pradesh Assembly Elections 2019.

Actor and Jana Sena leader Pawan Kalyan's brother Naga Babu on Wednesday joined the party and was immediately named the party candidate for the Narsapuram Lok Sabha constituency in Andhra Pradesh.

K. Nagendra Babu, popular as Naga Babu, is also an actor and producer. He formally joined the Jana Sena in the presence of his younger brother, who welcomed him into the party fold with a party scarf.

Speaking on the occasion, Kalyan said it was because of Naga Babu that there was political awareness in him. He exuded confidence that his brother would win the election from Narsapuram.

Naga Babu said Kalyan was his leader and he would do whatever his leader wants.

Both Naga Babu and Kalyan had campaigned for the Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) floated by their eldest brother and superstar K. Chiranjeevi in 2008. They, however, did not contest the elections while Chiranjeevi had entered the fray from two Assembly constituencies.

In the 2009 election, PRP could win only 18 seats in the then 294-member Assembly of undivided Andhra Pradesh. Chiranjeevi subsequently merged the PRP with the Congress party and became a minister in the Congress-led UPA-II government at the Centre.

Kalyan formed the Jana Sena in 2014 when Andhra Pradesh was bifurcated. In the elections held the same year, Chiranjeevi campaigned for the Congress while Kalyan supported the Telugu Desam Party-Bharatiya Janata Party alliance.

Following the Congress party's humiliating defeat in Andhra Pradesh, Chiranjeevi distanced himself from politics and made a comeback in the film industry.

Kalyan had on Tuesday announced that he will contest Assembly elections from two constituencies - Bhimavaram and Gajuwaka.

Jana Sena is contesting next month's Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections in alliance with the Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India-Marxist and the Bahujan Samaj Party.

Elections to the 175-member Assembly and all 25 Lok Sabha seats are scheduled on April 11.

Read More:

Back to Top