Will YSRCP Wrest Penukonda?

representational image  - Sakshi Post

Penukonda assembly constituency is among the 14 constituencies in Anantapur district. It is represented by BK Parthasarathi from Telugu Desam Party(TDP), who faces anti-incumbency sweeping across the area.

The total number of votes polled for him were 79,793 that is 47.46 % of the total votes. Next to him was M  Sankaranarayana with 62,378 votes from the YSR Congress Party(YSRCP). However, locals say that precious little was done for the constituency over the past five years under the TDP rule.

Penukonda constituency falls under the Hindupur Lok Sabha constituency. In the 2009 general elections, this constituency was represented by the same MLA, BK Parthasarathi from TDP. The ruling party strong man of the time, Paritala Ravindra represented this constituency for three terms(1994, 1999, 2004).
Though water supply has been improved to this drought-prone region, the quality of water is considered to be poor. Flouride levels in water were found to be high.

The district of Anantapur has had scanty rainfall for a long time, but poor governance over the past 5 years have made things worse for the people of Penukonda. Penukonda is now witnessing a positive winds of change in favour of the YSR Congress Party. People of the region feel that Rajanna Rajyam under YSR Congress Party chief, YS Jagan Mohan Reddy would usher in a period of good governance.

Also Read: TDP Leader Pellakuru Srinivasulu Resigns Over Kovur Ticket

Read More:

Back to Top