YSRCP Demands Expulsion Of Defected MPs

YSRCP MP Vijaya Sai Reddy - Sakshi Post

New Delhi: YSR Congress party (YSRCP) Parliamentary party leader V Vijaya Sai Reddy today met Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and requested her to expel the four MPs who won the election on YSRCP ticket and later shifted loyalties to the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP). The Rajya Sabha MP presented a memorandum to the Speaker, requesting her to immediately suspend the MPs.

After winning the 2014 election on YSRCP ticket, SPY Reddy, Kothapalli Geetha, Butta Renuka and Ponguleti Srinivas Reddy moved to the TDP. In his meeting with the Speaker, Vijaya Sai Reddy raised the long-pending issue of the suspension of the MPs. "If no action is taken against the MPs who changed parties, it would not reflect well on the spirit of our Parliamentary democracy. This will lead to more such defections," he told the Speaker.

The YSRCP MP recalled the cases of Rajya Sabha MPs Sharad Yadav and Anwar Ali, who switched parties and were suspended from the House within 90 days.

Also Read: YSRCP Mulls Yuva Garjana Against Yuva Nestam On August 11

Read More:

Back to Top