Hyderabad: Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao has been unanimously elected president of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) at the party's plenary being held here on Friday.

"KCR has been unanimously elected as president at the plenary as nobody has filed nominations for the post of the party president. Many nominations were filed on his (Rao's) behalf," senior party leader Nayani Narsimha Reddy said. He said that the recent bill hiking the reservations to backward Muslims and Scheduled Tribes will be discussed at the plenary, apart from the hike in fertiliser subsidy to farmers. The roadmap for 2019 elections will also be discussed.

Rao was declared as president of the TRS in the plenary held in 2015. According to the TRS Parliamentary Party Leader A P Jithender Reddy, nearly 10,000 party functionaries are expected to turn up for the meeting, which will be held at Kompally, about 30 km from here. "The venue has been named as 'Telangana Pragathi Pranganam'. Implementation of all flagship programmes such as Mission Kakatiya, Mission Bhagiratha, Kalyana Lakshmi and Shaadi Mubarak, will be discussed threadbare," Reddy, who represents Mahabubnagar Lok Sabha seat said.

TRS will also organise a public meeting at Warangal on April 27, marking its foundation day. In view of the meeting, Cyberabad Police have issued a traffic advisory.