Administering another major shock to the ruling TDP, which tried every trick in its bag to win MLC elections, YSRCP candidate Vennapusa Gopal Reddy was leading over his TDP rival KJ Reddy by over an unassailable 11,000 votes at the end of the fifth round. PDF candidate Geyanand is trailing in the third position.

Gopal Reddy and KJ Reddy are vying for honours in the West Rayalaseema graduates MLC constituency that comprrises Chittoor and Anantapur districts.

The counting of the votes was taken up late last night. In the other seat - the North Andhra Constituency - TDP-BJP joint candidate and BJP youth leader PVS Madhav established a lead of 2633 votes. PDF candidate Ajay Sharma is in the second position.