New Delhi: With the term of ౦f 10 Rajya Sabha MPs, including some prominent faces like Union Minister Smriti Irani, CPM national general secretary Sitaram Yechuri, TMC's Derek O'Brien, coming to an end in July and August this year, the Election Commission has announced the election schedule for these seats.

The seats are from the states of Gujarat, West Bengal and Goa. The election would be held on June 8 and formal notification is likely to be released on May 22, the EC said in a communique.

Goa Congress leader Shantaram Naik's term will expire on July 28, while senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel and Dilipbhai Pandya are due to retire on August 18.