Amaravati: Ummareddy Venkateswarlu on Friday took charge as the leader of opposition of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council. The orders were issued on Thursday by Legislative Council Chairman A Chakrapani. With the announcement, YSRCP has secured the leadership of the Opposition in both the houses.

The senior leader was congratulated by MLCs Ganga Prabhakar Reddy, Aalla Nani, and senior leaders Lella Appi Reddy, Merugu Nagarjuna, Talasia Raghuram, Kilari Rosaiah and others. During the 2014 general elections, YSRCP won 67 seats in the assembly and YS Jagan Mohan Reddy is the leader of the legislature party.

It may be recalled that even though the YSRCP had a significant strength in the council, Congress had majority till now and C. Ramachandraiah served as the leader of opposition. His term was over on March 29.